1913 – 1920
The former London depot of Hesse and Savory in Henniker Mews, Callow Street, became occupied by Lionel Martin and Robert Bamford in late 1912. On the 15th January 1913, their partnership became incorporated as ‘Bamford and Martin Ltd’ and construction began on their first unique automobile. This car, known as ‘Coal Scuttle’ – the first ever Aston-Martin (note the hyphen) was registered for the road in early 1915. Not long after the First World War had begun, the small factory closed and both the bosses and workers joined in with the War effort.
The photographs here were taken exactly 100 years after the company of Bamford and Martin began. The event was the ceremonial unveiling of a plaque by AMHT Chairman, Roger Carey and AML Chairman, David Richards.